Latest News

SCGOP Releases Final Delegate Numbers: Gingrich Wins 23, Romney Wins 2


SC Republican Party Releases Final Delegate Numbers following 2012 Presidential Primary

Columbia, S.C.-The South Carolina Republican Party today released final delegate numbers following the January 21, 2012 South Carolina Presidential Primary.

With 100% of 2,117 precincts reporting, the statewide primary winner was Newt Gingrich. Gingrich won 11 at-large delegates with 40.43% of the vote. Mitt Romney finished second, winning no at large delegates with 27.85% of the vote.

Gingrich also won two delegates in each of the following Congressional districts: 2nd, 3rd, 4th, 5th, 6th and 7th (for a total of 12 delegates). Romney won two delegates by winning the first Congressional district.

The total allocation of South Carolina’s 25 delegates is as follows: Newt Gingrich 23, Mitt Romney 2.

“I congratulate Speaker Gingrich and Governor Romney on winning delegates in South Carolina’s critically important Presidential Primary. South Carolina voters turned out in record numbers to help ensure that Barack Obama is simply the worst one-term president in U.S. history,” said SCGOP Chairman Chad Connelly.

605,710 voters participated in the 2012 primary (21.60%). The previous record turnout was 573,101 in the 2000 Presidential Primary, with turnout in the 2008 primary at 445,499.