Latest News

Press Release: 2014 SCGOP Award Winners

Columbia, S.C. – The South Carolina Republican Party recognized fifteen individuals for their service to the South Carolina Republican Party at last Friday night’s 47th Annual Silver Elephant Dinner.

Our grassroots activists and elected officials are the heart of our state party. These award winners go above and beyond the call of duty and we are honored by their leadership,” said SCGOP Chairman Matt Moore upon conveying the awards. The SCGOP Awards Committee met last month to select the winners.

The 2014 award winners are:

Roger Milliken Award:

Lt. Governor Glenn McConnell, for his 30+ years of service as State Senator, Senate President Pro Tempore and Lieutenant Governor
Highest award given by the South Republican Party in honor of the late Roger Milliken.

Chairman’s Bronze Elephant Award:

Dr. Mick Zais, State Superintendent of Education

Presented by the State Chairman for dedicated service to the South Carolina Republican Party.

Palmetto Elephant Award:

Sandra Bryan of Richland County, SCGOP Secretary
Billy Simons of Dorchester County, National Committeeman to the Young Republican National Federation
Given each year to the most outstanding volunteer of the South Carolina Republican Party.

James B. Edwards Award:

Moye Graham, Chairman of the Clarendon County Republican Party
In the tradition of the Honorable James B. Edwards, Eighty-sixth Governor of the State of South Carolina, for dedicated and conspicuous service to the South Carolina Republican Party by a volunteer.

Katon Dawson Award:

Sandy McGarry, Chairman of the Lancaster County Republican Party
The Katon Dawson Award is given to an outstanding County Chairman for dedicated service to the South Carolina Republican Party.

David Eckstrom Award:

Charm Altman of Charleston County
Leon Winn of Sumter County

The David Eckstrom Award was established to honor a deserving South Carolina Republican for commitment and service to our Party and State, to be presented at each Silver Elephant Banquet.

Local Government Official Award:

Sheriff Bruce Bryant of York County

Honors a public official holding a local, partisan office. It is presented for outstanding service to the local community, steadfast dedication to the local Republican Party and positive representation of the Republican Party in local government.

Terry Haskins Award:

State Senator John Courson of Richland County
State Representative Rita Allison of Spartanburg County
State Representative Kirkman Finlay III of Richland County
State Representative Heather Ammons-Crawford of Horry County

The Terry Haskins Award is presented in memory of the Honorable Terry Haskins, Speaker Pro Tempore of the South Carolina House of Representatives.  It is presented for dedication and conspicuous service to the South Carolina Republican Party by an elected official in the tradition of the late Terry Haskins.

Van D. Hipp, Jr. Award: 

Marcus Finney of the University of South Carolina
The Van D. Hipp, Jr. Award is presented to an active young Republican who is a tireless advocate in the cause of freedom, a patriot for economic and social conservatism; and primarily someone who believes that duty, honor, and country are the highest calling for each and all of us; an award to recognize the same model set forth by State Chairman Van D. Hipp, Jr.

Special Chairman’s Award:

State Representative Alan Clemmons of Horry County
The State Chairman, at his or her discretion, periodically gives awards to individuals who have gone above and beyond the call of duty in helping with special projects or events.

(Note: Media outlets desiring hi-res photos of winners should contact the S.C. Republican Party)