Latest News

SCGOP Announces 2015 Officers and Award Winners

Fellow Republican,

It was a weekend to remember! A combined 2,500+ Republicans descended on Columbia for the 48th Annual Silver Elephant Dinner and State Convention.

We heard from many South Carolina elected officials and possible Presidential candidates. Awards were given and State Party officers were elected. But above all else, we hope every guest enjoyed the festivities and left impressed with our State Party’s dedication to excellence.

Thank you to each and every person who made the weekend possible!

At Saturday’s State Convention, delegates elected the State Party’s new officers.

Congratulations to these hard-working Republicans:

State Chairman – Matt Moore of Lexington County

1st Vice Chairman – Katrina Shealy of Lexington County

2nd Vice Chairman – Nse Ekpo of Richland County

3rd Vice Chairman – Taylor Mason of Charleston County


The State Party also gave fourteen awards:

Roger Milliken Award – Glenn McCall of York County

James B. Edwards Award – Janis Blocker of Colleton County

David Eckstrom Award – Nate Leupp of Greenville County and JoAnn Burroughs of Greenwood County

Katon Dawson Award – K.T. Ruthven of Aiken County

Van D. Hipp, Jr. Award – Brandon Newton of Lancaster County

Chairman’s Bronze Elephant Award – Chesterfield County GOP

Palmetto Elephant Award – Mary Jean Baxley of Richland County and Sam Vetter of York County

Local Government Official Award – Randal Wallace of Horry County

Terry Haskins Award – Rep. Todd Atwater of Lexington County

Special Chairman’s Award – Citadel Republican Society

Special Chairman’s Award – Hope Walker of Lexington County

Special Lifetime Achievement Award (posthumously) – Gov. James B. Edwards, accepted by his family

In closing, we look forward to working with you, our new county chairs, state executive committee members, and every Republican across the state over the next two years!